Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)

Rashtriya Janata Dal – National Peoples Party is one of the major political party in India. The party was founded in 1997 by Laloo Prasad Yadav. It has a strong presence in Bihar under the leadership of Laloo Yadav and his wife Rabri Devi. Traditionally, the mass base of the party has been Yadavs and Muslims, two large and relatively politically active segments of Bihar’s population.

RJD lost power after the elections in 2005, when a Nitish Kumar-led coalition NDA government wrested power from Rabri Devi, who had been chief minister of the state for XX years. The RJD is also a constituent of the United Progressive Alliance (UPA)led by the Congress at the Centre.

Following the performance of the RJD in the last few elections, the Election Commission has now accorded it the status of a recognized national level party in 2008. RJD recently came into the headlines for its allegedly clandestine seat-sharing deal with Ram Vilas Paswans Lok Jana Shakti Party, leaving just three seats for the Congress. According to sources, the alliance between Congress and RJD is over now. The party will combine with Lok Janata Party leaving only three seats for the Congress. Now, with the Congress declaring its intentions to contest 37 seats in Bihar, RJDs marriage with the Congress in the UPA seems to be hanging a question mark.

List of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD)candidates for Lok Sabha Election 2009
S.No State Name Constituency Name Candidate Name
1 Bihar Khagaria Rabindra Kumar Rana
2 Bihar Karakat Kanti Singh
3 Bihar Valmiki Nagar Raghunath Jha
4 Bihar Jhanjharpur Devendra Prasad Yadav
5 Bihar Ujiarpur Alok Kumar Mehta
6 Bihar Gaya Ramjee Manjhi
7 Bihar Gopalganj Anil Kumar
8 Bihar Bhagalpur Shakuni Choudhary
9 Bihar Jamui Shyam Rajak
10 Bihar Jahanabad Surendra Prasad Yadav
11 Bihar Buxar Jagdanand Singh
12 Bihar Munger Ram Badan Rai
13 Bihar Siwan Hina Shahab
14 Bihar Sasaram Lalan Paswan
15 Bihar Kishanganj Md Taslimuddin
16 Bihar Vaishali Dr Raghuvansh Prasad Singh
17 Bihar Banka Jai Prakash Narayan Yadav
18 Bihar Aurangabad Shakeel Ahmed Khan
19 Bihar Darbhanga Mohd Ali Ashraf Fatmi
20 Bihar Saran Lalu Prasad
21 Bihar Madhubani Abdul Bari Siddiqui
22 Bihar Sheohar Sitaram Singh
23 Bihar Purvi Champaran Akhilesh Prasad Singh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: