General Knowledge of India- High Court

High Court
Presently there are 21 High Courts in India. Consists of Chief Justice & other such judges as appointed by the President.
The Constitution, unlike in the case of the Supreme Court, does not fix any maximum number of judges for a High Court. A judge of a High Court can be transferred to another High Court without his consent by the President.
In this, the Chief Justice of India is also consulted. The opinion provided by him shall have primacy and is binding on the President.
Appointment of Judges
The appointment of Chief Justice is made after consultation with the Chief Justice of Supreme Court & the Governor of the State by the President.
In case of appointment of a Judge, the Chief Justice of the High Court concerned is also consulted in addition to Chief Justice of Supreme Court & Governor of the State concerned.
On Oct 6, 1993, the Constitution bench of Supreme Court held that the opinion of Chief Justice (of the concerned High Court & the Supreme Court) will be given priority in both the appointment as well as transfer of senior judges.
Jurisdiction and Seats of High Courts
Name Estd. In the Year Territorial Jurisdiction Seat
Allahabad 1866 Uttar Pradesh Allahabad (Bench at Lucknow)
Andhra Pradesh 1954 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad
Mumbai 1862 Maharashtra, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Goa, Daman and Diu Mumbai (Bench at Nagpur, Panaji and Aurangabad)
Kolkata 1862 West Bengal and Andaman and Nicobar Kolkata (Circuit Bench at Port Blair)
Delhi 1966 Delhi Delhi
Guwahati 1948 Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh Guwahati (Bench at Kohima and Circuit Benches at Imphal, Agartala & Shillong)
Gujarat 1960 Gujarat Ahmedabad
Himachal Pradesh 1971 Himachal Pradesh Shimla
Jammu & Kashmir 1957 J & K Srinagar and Jammu
Karnataka 1884 Karnataka Bangalore
Kerala 1956 Kerala and Lakshadweep Ernakulam
Madhya Pradesh 1956 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur (Benches at Gwalior and Indore)
Chennai 1862 Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry Chennai
Orissa 1948 Orissa Cuttack
Patna 1916 Bihar Patna
Punjab & Haryana 1966 Punjab, Haryana and Chandigarh Chandigarh
Rajasthan 1950 Rajasthan Jodhpur (Bench at Jaipur)
Sikkim 1975 Sikkim Gangtok
Bilaspur 2000 Chhattisgarh Bilaspur
Nainital 2000 Uttarakhand Nainital
Ranchi 2000 Jharkhand Ranchi
General Knowledge Quiz 2012, 2012 General Knowledge Quiz, Current Events 2012, Latest Current Affairs 2012, General Awareness 2012, General Knowledge 2012, Current Gk 2012

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: