Communist Party of India (Marxist)

The Communist Party of India (Marxist), abbreviated as CPI(M), emerged out of a split from the Communist Party of India in 1964. The party was founded with an objective of achieving socialism. The party also aim at implementing reservations for the disabled in public sector employment, poverty alleviation programmes and education for the disabled. As of 2008, CPI(M) is heading three state governments which are Kerala, West Bengal and Tripura.

On the last day of the party’s 18th congress, the central committee elected Prakash Karat as the new general secretary of CPI(M). The other active members in the party are West Bengal Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharyajee, V.S. Achuthanandan-current Chief Minister of Kerala, Jyoti Basu, Manik Sarkar and Ramachandran Pillai. Another important leader and public face of CPI (M) is Sitaram Yechury who is head of the International Department and Editor of CPI (M)s central weekly Peoples’ Democracy.

Contesting on an average 15 percent of the total seats in the last few elections, the CPI(M) has been getting around 6 percent of the votes. To the Lok Sabha elections in 2004, the party won 44 seats adding 11 more to its earlier tally of 33 in the 1999 elections. The party leaders have promised to implement the Disabilities Act along with other things like buildings, transport, information, public places and other avenues to be fully accessible and barrier free to people with disabilities.

List of CPIM for Lok Sabha Election 2009
S.No State Name Constituency Name Candidate Name
1 Andaman and Nicobar Islands Andaman & Nicobar Islands Tapan Bepari
2 Assam Silchar Deepak Bhattacharya
3 Assam Tezpur Jiten Sundi
4 Assam Barpeta Durge Deka
5 Bihar Nawada Ganesh Shankar Vidyarthi
6 Bihar Paschim champaran Ramashray Singh
7 Bihar Supaul Balram Singh Yadav
8 Bihar Ujiarpur Ramdev Verma
9 Bihar Bhagalpur Subodh Roy
10 Chhattisgarh Surguja Bal Singh
11 Gujarat Dahod Singhji Katara
12 Gujarat Rajkot Sudhirbhai Joshi
13 Haryana Sirsa Ram Kumar
14 Himachal Pradesh Mandi Onkar Shad
15 Jharkhand Rajmahal Jyotin Soren
16 Jharkhand Ranchi Rajendra Singh Munda
17 Karnataka Dakshina Kannada B Madhava
18 Kerala Kottayam Suresh Kurup
19 Kerala Vadakara P. Satheedevi
20 Kerala Kozhikode Adv. Muhammad Riyaz
21 Kerala Alappuzha Dr. K.s. Manoj
22 Kerala Pathanamthitta Ananthagopan
23 Kerala Kollam P. Rajendran
24 Kerala Attingal A. Sampath
25 Kerala Palakkad M B Rajesh
26 Kerala Chalakudy U P Joseph
27 Kerala Kannur K K Ragesh
28 Kerala Malappuram T K Hamza
29 Kerala Alathur P k Biju
30 Kerala Kasaragod P Karunakaran
31 Lakshadweep Lakshadweep Lookmanul Hakkim M K
32 Madhya Pradesh Morena J K Pipal
33 Maharashtra Palghar Lahanu Shidva Kom
34 Maharashtra Dindori Jiva Pandu Gavit
35 Punjab Anandpur Sahib Mahan Singh Rori
36 Rajasthan Sikar Amra Ram
37 Rajasthan Bhilwara Pawan Duggal
38 Rajasthan Ganganagar Shpatram Meghwal
39 Tripura Tripura West Khagen Das
40 Tripura Tripura East Bajuban Riyan
41 Uttarakhand Tehri Garhwal Bachi Ram Kaunswal
42 Uttar Pradesh Azamgarh Arun Kumar Singh
43 Uttar Pradesh Firozabad Rajjo Devi
44 West Bengal Sreerampur Santashree Chatterjee
45 West Bengal Arambag Sakti Mohan Malik
46 West Bengal Tamluk Lakshman Seth
47 West Bengal Jhargram Dr. Pulin Behari Baskey
48 West Bengal Bardhaman Purba Dr. Anup Saha
49 West Bengal Budhaman – Durgapur Saidul Haque
50 West Bengal Bolpur Dr. Ramchanda Dom
51 West Bengal Birbhum Braja Mukherjee
52 West Bengal Hooghly Rupchand Pal
53 West Bengal Barrackpur Tarit Baran Topdar
54 West Bengal Diamond Harbour Samik Lahiri
55 West Bengal Bankura Basudeb Acharya
56 West Bengal Uluberia Hannan Mollah
57 West Bengal Darjeeling Jibesh Sarkar
58 West Bengal Jalpaiguri Mahendra Roy
59 West Bengal Raiganj Bireswar Lahiri
60 West Bengal Maldaha Uttar Sailen Sarkar
61 West Bengal Maldaha Dakshin Dr. Abdur Rezzak
62 West Bengal Jangipur Mriganka Bhattacharya
63 West Bengal Murshidabad Anisur Rahaman
64 West Bengal Ranaghat Dr. Basudeb Barman
65 West Bengal Bangaon Asim Bala
66 West Bengal Mathurapur Animesh Naskar
67 West Bengal Jadavpur Dr. Sujan Chakraborty
68 West Bengal Kolkata Dakshin Rabin Deb
69 West Bengal Kolkata Utttar Md. Salim
70 West Bengal Howrah Swadesh Chakraborty

Communist Party of India

The Communist Party of India was founded in December1925 to be a part of the nations freedom struggle and also to envision a socialist India. The fusion of militant anti-imperialist patriotism and internationalism, of the struggle for national liberation and the class struggle for socialism led to the party’s creation.

 Social equality for women, adult franchise, nationalization of private-owned enterprise have been some of the party’s crucial issues. The CPI has been forthright about backing issues like nations wealth in the nations hands (nationalization), land to the tiller (land reforms), social justice for the untouchables, democratic rights of organisations, right to protest through demonstrations and strikes, etc.

 The main slogan of the party, ‘People’s Democracy’ was substituted by ‘National Democracy’ in 1951.  In 1957, CPI emerged as the strongest opposition party in the assembly elections in Kerala and won. This was the first time in independent Indian history that an opposition party won control over an Indian  state. But soon in 1964, some ideological differences within the party brought about a major split, leading to the creation of the Communist Party of India (Marxist), which CPI as the smaller of the Communist entities in India. The CPI was also the government in power in Kerala between 1970-77, with Congress support,  and Achutha Menonwas elected as the chief minister. CPI has also been a part of the Left Frront government in West Bengal, Tripura and intermittently in Kerala in the last 20 years. In Tamil Nadu it is part of the Progressive Democratic Alliance.

CPI also has some incorporated organizations, some of which were created to look after employee welfare at the lower levels of society.

  • All India Trade Union Congress
  • All India Youth Federation
  • All India Students Federation
  • National Federation of Indian Women
  • All India Kisan Sabha (peasants organization)
  • Bharatiya Khet Mazdoor Union (agricultural workers)
  • All India State Government Employees Federation (State government employees)

Latest Happening in the Party
CPI is recognized as a ‘National Party’ by the Election Commission of India. Today, the Communist Party of India is known to be the only National political party from India which has contested in all general elections with the same electoral symbol.

On national level, CPI supports the Indian National Congress-led United Progressive Alliance government, but without taking part in it. The party is part of the coalition of leftist and communist parties, also known as the Left-Front in national media. The part has been against India’s recent nuclear treaty with the United States and even withdrew support to the Manmohan Singh government over the issue.

AB Bardhan is the present general secretary of CPI. The party has fraternal relations with other Communist-aligned parties like CPI(M), Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) and Forward Bloc (FB).