The World Cup football tournament is organised by the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) once in four years since 1930. It was on July 18, 1930 that the first-ever World Cup match was played between Uruguay and Chile, at the newly built Centenary Stadium in Montevideo (Uruguay). The World Cup now officially designated as Jules-Rimet Cup, named after the French lawyer who was the President of FIFA from 1921 to 1953, is 12 inch high and made of solid gold.
Year Venue Winner Runner Others awards related to this event
2006 Germany Italy France
  • Adidas Golden Ball: Zinedine ZIDANE (FRA)
  • Adidas Golden Shoe: Miroslav KLOSE (GER)
  • Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper: Gianluigi BUFFON (ITA)
  • Best Young Player Award: Lukas PODOLSKI (GER)
  • FIFA Fair Play award: Spain, Brazil
  • FIFA Award for the Most Entertaining Team:Portugal
2002 Korea/Japan Brazil Germany
  • Adidas Golden Ball: Oliver KAHN (GER)
  • Adidas Golden Shoe: RONALDO (BRA)
  • Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper: Oliver KAHN (GER)
  • FIFA Fair Play award: Belgium
  • FIFA Award for the Most Entertaining Team:Korea Republic
1998 France France Brazil
  • Adidas Golden Ball: RONALDO (BRA)
  • Adidas Golden Shoe: Davor SUKER (CRO)
  • Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper: Fabien BARTHEZ (FRA)
  • FIFA Fair Play award: England, France
  • FIFA Award for the Most Entertaining Team:France
1994 USA Brazil Italy
  • Adidas Golden Ball: ROMARIO (BRA)
  • Adidas Golden Shoe: Oleg SALENKO (RUS), Hristo STOICHKOV (BUL)
  • Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper: Michel PREUDHOMME (BEL)
  • FIFA Fair Play award: Brazil
  • FIFA Award for the Most Entertaining Team:Brazil
1990 Italy Germany FR Argentina
  • Adidas Golden Ball: Salvatore SCHILLACI (ITA)
  • Adidas Golden Shoe: Salvatore SCHILLACI (ITA)
  • FIFA Fair Play award: England
1986 Mexico Argentina Germany FR
  • Adidas Golden Ball: Diego MARADONA (ARG)
  • Adidas Golden Shoe: Gary LINEKER (ENG)
  • FIFA Fair Play award: Brazil
1982 Spain Italy Germany FR
  • Adidas Golden Ball: Paolo ROSSI (ITA)
  • Adidas Golden Shoe: Paolo ROSSI (ITA)
  • FIFA Fair Play award: Brazil
1978 Argentina Argentina Netherlands
  • Golden Shoe: Mario KEMPES (ARG)
  • FIFA Fair Play award: Argentina
1974 Germany Germany FR Netherlands
  • Golden Shoe: Grzegorz LATO (POL)
1970 Mexico Brazil Italy
  • Golden Shoe: Gerd MUELLER (GER)
1966 England England Germany FR
  • Golden Shoe: EUSEBIO (POR)
1962 Chile Brazil Czechoslovakia
  • Golden Shoe: Florian ALBERT (HUN), Valentin IVANOV (URS), Drazen JERKOVIC (YUG), Leonel SANCHEZ (CHI), VAVA (BRA), GARRINCHA (BRA)
1958 Sweden Brazil Sweden
  • Golden Shoe: Just FONTAINE (FRA)
1954 Switzerland Germany FR Hungary
  • Golden Shoe: Sandor KOCSIS (HUN)
1950 Brazil Uruguay Brazil
  • Golden Shoe: ADEMIR (BRA)
1938 France Italy Hungary
  • Golden Shoe: LEONIDAS (BRA)
1934 Italy Italy Czechoslovakia
  • Golden Shoe: Oldrich NEJEDLY (TCH)
1930 Uruguay Uruguay Argentina
  • Golden Shoe: Guillermo STABILE (ARG)